Table Revamp!

I purchased this table from Good Will four years ago before moving into my first apartment! When I bought it, it was your traditional brown, wooden table.  Back then, red was my decor color of choice and I went to town with it!

My table BEFORE! (It was my temporary paint can stand for awhile...)

When I posted with my “Dresser Reveal”, I had requests to show everyone how I did it. This time around, I had my camera with me the entire time to show you step by step what I did during the transformation!

STEP 1: Sanding

I sanding the entire table with a hand sander to get the shine off so the paint would have a surface to stick to. I wasn't very cautious because I knew I was going for an antique look.

See what I mean? You cannot hurt it...go crazy! It's a great way to release a little stress and tension. Go ahead and knock a few dents in it if you feel the need. Yes, people actually do this!

STEP 2: Base Coat

Apply your base color of paint (2 coats). I chose a deep brown (almost black). I didn't prime the table first. I suppose you could if you really wanted to but it probably isn't necessary since we gave it a good sanding in step 1. You could use a paint with primer in it if you felt the need. On my dresser I was very meticulous while applying paint...you really cannot mess it up. You will understand what I mean when you see the final product!

TIP: TO SAVE MONEY TRY TO UTILIZE PAINT COLORS LEFT OVER FROM PREVIOUS PROJECTS… I HAVE USED THE BROWN BASE COLOR ON ALL MY FURNITURE PROJECTS (3 DRESSERS AND A TABLE= 1 QUART OF PAINT=$12 at HOME DEPOT!).

STEP 3: Top Coat

Now apply your top color. I chose an antique white for the table top and a sea glass blue (same paint I used on my dresser) for the legs. I applied one coat of each here.

STEP 4: Roughing it up!

This is the fun part...roughing it up! I use a variety of products to remove part of the top layer of paint. I am going for a very old and antique look I have found that if you would like to remove a large part of your top layer, one coat of paint is best. If you are just going to remove paint around the edges, I would apply two coats. I used a sanding block, hand sander, sand paper and steel wool. The steel wool leaves behind a gray tinge when working on light colors (like antique white). I was okay with this because I think it adds to the look I am going for. When you start out just go with it and you will figure out a system that works best for you! I sanded the table top and legs.

Me working away!

STEP 5: Glaze

Glaze! The glaze is a clear coat you add at the end. I think it gives your project a finished look and also gives it a smooth finish so that it's easier to clean/dust! Since I was going for an antique look, I added a drop of brown paint to my glaze. I poured a little bit in a styrofoam cup and then used a plastic spoon to add the paint to it and stir it up. When applying the glaze, I brushed it on and then used a paper town to drag it down. You don't want to wipe it off, just make it looked streaked. Again, it sounds scary but you can't hurt it! When I did the legs I wanted them darker so I added another drop of paint to the glaze. I practiced on a piece of cardboard before my first time using the product and found that it really wasn't necessary. It was much simpler than what I thought it would be!

AFTER!!!

TaDa!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Table Revamp!

  1. Janet

    Super CUTE! I want to come live in your apartment!

  2. Kim

    Is this the same process you used on your dresser?

    • Yes! I used the exact same brown paint for the base color. The only difference is with the dresser, I was starting out working on finished wood instead of a pre-painted surface. Just sand until you get the shine off and you’re good to go!

Leave a Reply

